Entertainment News

Old Dominion Stakes Its Claim in Country Music Scene | Dec. 9, 2019

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – Old Dominion is about as hot as a band can get right now.

The country-pop act released its third full-length album in October and the catchy 12-song collection has already spawned the upbeat hits “Make It Sweet” and “Never be Sorry,” the ballad “Some People Do,” the easy-going “One Man Band” and the personal “My Heart Is a Bar.”

Last month, the quintet led by Matthew Ramsey and Trevor Rosen won the CMA award for Vocal Group of the Year for the second year in a row, beating out Little Big Town, Lady Antebellum, Midland and Zac Brown Band. In the spring, Old Dominion was named Group of the Year at the Academy of Country Music Awards ceremony.

The act will make its Youngstown debut Dec. 14 when it brings its Make It Sweet tour to Covelli Centre with opening acts Scotty McCreery and Ryan Hurd. Tickets are $38, $48 and $68 at Ticketmaster.com (fees apply) and the Covelli box office, and are nearly all gone.

The Youngstown show is part of a second leg of the tour that took the band to Europe in October.

After retaining its Vocal Group of the Year title at the CMAs on Nov. 13, lead singer Ramsey reflected in his acceptance speech.

“I keep thinking about how, back in the day, we used to operate under this really strange mantra of self-preservation,” he said, explaining how the band members would tell themselves that things just wouldn’t work out.

The band need not prepare itself for failure any more. Its success has been assured with its new album, which the band describes as “more vulnerable” than its previous work.

“We definitely speak to our personal lives a bit more openly,” said Ramsey in an interview with The Boot. “Or just to the human condition and everyday life that every human experiences – you know, the ups and downs of relationships.”

McCreery, the opening act for the Covelli concert, earned back-to-back No. 1 hits from his 2018 album “Seasons Change” with “Five More Minutes” and “This Is It,” which stayed at the top of the charts for two weeks.

He co-wrote all 11 songs on “Seasons Change,” including his single “In Between” which is a highlight of his live show.

McCreery won the 10th season of “American Idol” in 2011.

Pictured: Old Dominion is, from left, Geoff Sprung, Trevor Rosen, Matthew Ramsey, Brad Tursi and Whit Sellers.

Copyright 2019 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.

Local Offers

25 E Boardman St, Suite 306, PO Box 714 Youngstown, OH 44501

Phone: 330-744-5023|Fax: 330-744-5838